chrisdeslauriers

I stand alone,
In bloody dust.
A soft zephyr
Caressing me.
The crowds cheer
And chant my name,
But I’m not there.

I walk alone
On silent plains,
Searching for friends.
Trusted comrades,
Are you… dead?
Victims of war
Are rotting here
But I’m not there.

I stand alone
Veiled by darkness.
My guiding light,
The flame of hope
Feeds the void’s lust.
Yet it remains…
But I’m not there.

I stand alone,
In a cold hall…
Mocking voices,
Jostled, pushed, hurt.
Ink on paper,
The sole escape.
But sadly,
I’m there.

© Chris Deslauriers – 04/2012

View original post

Leave a Reply

