“Stars” by Emily Bronte

AH ! why, because the dazzling sun 

  Restored our Earth to joy, 

Have you departed, every one, 

  And left a desert sky ? 

All through the night, your glorious eyes

  Were gazing down in mine,

And, with a full heart’s thankful sighs,

  I blessed that watch divine. 


I was at peace, and drank your beams 

  As they were life to me; 

And revelled in my changeful dreams, 

  Like petrel on the sea. 

Thought followed thought, star followed star,

  Through boundless regions, on;

While one sweet influence, near and far,

  Thrilled through, and proved us one ! 

Why did the morning dawn to break

  So great, so pure, a spell;

And scorch with fire, the tranquil cheek,

  Where your cool radiance fell ? 

Blood-red, he rose, and, arrow-straight,

  His fierce beams struck my brow;

The soul of nature, sprang, elate,

  But mine sank sad and low ! 

My lids closed down, yet through their veil,

  I saw him, blazing, still,

And steep in gold the misty dale,

  And flash upon the hill. 

I turned me to the pillow, then,

  To call back night, and see

Your worlds of solemn light, again,

  Throb with my heart, and me ! 

 

 

It would not dothe pillow glowed, 

  And glowed both roof and floor; 

And birds sang loudly in the wood, 

  And fresh winds shook the door; 

The curtains waved, the wakened flies

  Were murmuring round my room,

Imprisoned there, till I should rise,

  And give them leave to roam. 

Oh, stars, and dreams, and gentle night;

  Oh, night and stars return !

And hide me from the hostile light,

  That does not warm, but burn; 

That drains the blood of suffering men;

  Drinks tears, instead of dew;

Let me sleep through his blinding reign,

  And only wake with you ! 

ELLIS.

Leave a Reply

